NPP #2: Seniority in the Senate

As a part of a daily series called Non-Political Politics (NPP), Yusoof Monawvil posts daily updates on the obscure, quirky, and unconventional aspects of the United States’ key political institutions—in an undoubtedly non-political manner

Senior Senator Decade of Entry
Today’s map features each Senior Senator’s decade of entry by state. Unsurprisingly, the most senior of Senators is Vermont’s Patrick Leahy, followed by the current President Pro Tempore—Utah’s Orrin Hatch and Mississippi’s Thad Cochran. On the other end, we have Alabama’s Luther Strange, appointed earlier this year by former Governor Bentley to fill Sessions’ seat.

Posted by

Yusoof Monawvil is a Sri Lankan-American international student with a knack for history and politics. When not glued to his computer screen, he can often be found wandering through nature and exploring derelict urban sites.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s